top of page
Writer's pictureElton Lim

Starting A Podcast

Updated: Apr 1, 2022

If you think you can do a thing or think you can’t do a thing, you are right – Henry Ford

    PODCASTS, they are everywhere and everyone is starting one right now. You might be thinking ELTON another podcast SERIOUSLY!? Let me stop you right there, YES another podcast but read through this first before you make your case on whether I should produce a podcast.

Here are some of the reasons why I started my podcast – Mic’ed Up

1.       I love meeting people and the whole concept of idea sharing

Being able to meet new people and share our stories has is one of the main parts of starting a podcast that fascinates me.  Not everyone is comfortable with going out to meet people and strike up conversations, with the podcast we will be able to share our stories and ideas with everyone else.  You’d never know, that one story might relate to someone and inspire them.  Even with a small audience, never estimate your ability to change or improve an individual’s life

Gary Vee sums this up perfectly in this video

2.       Using this as my production playground

I’m an aspiring videographer and I love to direct and produce creative content, a podcast allows me to go through the whole process of production and also work with different people with a different perspective on the creative process.  In addition to that, a podcast pushes me to make content with a purpose.  I would always ask myself this main thing before choosing what content to produce, would this episode BRING VALUE to the audience? (even one person counts).  I wouldn’t want to create something just for the sake of creating.

3.       Constantly learning and improving my communication skills

For a lot of people the ability to communicate efficiently and also speak confidently may be a problem and that has also been the case with me.  I always had the confidence to speak and start a conversation, but I was always struggling to be efficient and conversations tend to have no direction and purpose.  Podcast teaching us to structure our content and questions, to ask with purpose and mindfulness.  Such as

How would this question help the audience understand certain issues?

How do we ask this controversial question and also be sensitive at the same time?

I started a podcast with almost zero experience in production and also in conducting interviews.

You must be crazy!

But all experts started somewhere, learn through failures, learn through experimenting and researching and seek feedback and improvement.

Don’t let people dictate what you can and cannot do, if you really want to do something DO IT.  Nike puts it simply “JUST DO IT”.  If you are waiting for the perfect moment to start you’ll never begin.


Stay Awesome!

Elton


4 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page